Skip to main content
Special Education

Special Education is a specialized instruction provided for children from birth to age 22 who qualify according to the laws and regulations outlined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA 2004).  A student may qualify for Special Education services as an individual with special needs in one of the following areas: Deaf/hard of hearing, Deaf-Blind, Visually impaired, Speech-Language impaired, Specific Learning Disability, Orthopedically impaired, Intellectually Disabled, Emotionally Disturbed, Autism, Traumatic Brain Injury, and Other Health Impaired.  A student receives support from Special Education as identified on his/her Individual Education Plan.

Oakley Union Elementary School District offers a continuum of Special Education support which includes: push-in, resource, learning center and Special Day Classes

At each IEP meeting, the team is required to consider a continuum of options for service, beginning with the least restrictive.  Their job is to determine which combination of services provides the required benefits with the least restriction in environment.  Federal law requires that the placement be as close as possible to the child’s home, and that the child is educated in the school he or she would attend if non-disable, unless the IEP team determines that the child requires some other arrangements.

 

Welcome to Student Services and Staff Directory

Welcome to the web page for the Oakley Union Elementary School District Student Services Department. Our mission is to support all students by implementing strategies and services to improve student success.  Our goal is to meet student needs with high-quality, researched-based instruction and interventions to consistently monitor student progress ensuring the best educational decisions are made.  Through collaboration with staff, students, and parents, programs and services are articulated and communicated to make effective decisions in each student's best interest.

FERPA Notice to Parents

Important Information Regarding Confidential Student Data

A recent lawsuit against the California Department of Education (CDE) is impacting all school districts across the state.

In April 2012, two organizations, the Morgan Hill Concerned Parents Association and the Concerned Parent Association, filed a lawsuit against the CDE alleging widespread, systemic non-compliance by local education agencies with special education laws. The suit also alleges the CDE fails to monitor, investigate and correct such non-compliance in accordance with the law. The CDE denies these allegations and is actively defending the litigation.

Districts in our county were not involved in the lawsuit and are not the subject of any of the suit’s allegations.

Nonetheless, as a part of this lawsuit, CDE has been ordered by the court to release all data it has collected on general and special education students since Jan. 1, 2008.

For more information regarding the release of this data and how you can file an objection with the court to consider not releasing your data, visit:  http://www.cde.ca.gov/morganhillcase. You may also contact the California Department of Education at 916-319-0800.

 

Staff

Deputy Superintendent of Student Services and Human Resources
Maria Bordanaro
(925) 625-7235
mbordanaro@ouesd.k12.ca.us

State Preschool Director
Rachel Fogleman
(925) 625-5091
rfogleman@ouesd.k12.ca.us

Director of Student Services 
Wendy Taylor 
(925) 625-7060

wtaylor@ouesd.k12.ca.us

State Preschool Clerk
Maria Sahagun
(925) 625-6366
msahagun@ouesd.k12.ca.us

Secretary
Shannon Hagmann
(925) 625-7060

shagmann@ouesd.k12.ca.us

Extended Day Learning Centers Program Coordinator
Wendy Fruit
(925) 808-9969
wfruit@ouesd.k12.ca.us

Student Services Program Specialist
Michael Allum
(925) 625-7055
mallum@ouesd.k12.ca.us

Nurse
Tami Raney
(925) 350-1190
traney@ouesd.k12.ca.us

Behaviorist
Ashley Hayes
(925) 625-7060
ahayes@ouesd.k12.ca.us

LVN
Teresa Allen
(925) 570-4087
tallen@ouesd.k12.ca.us
Behaviorist
Alana Lindsay
(925) 625-7060
alindsay@ouesd.k12.ca.us
Coordinator Special Projects
Heather Partida
(925) 625-6868
hpartida@ouesd.k12.ca.us